What OET grades do I need to be accepted by the General Medical Council (GMC), UK?

The General Medical Council (GMC) has announced that it will formally recognise OET for overseas-trained doctors for registration purposes from 8 February 2018. You will need to achieve at least Grade B in all four sub-tests of Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. 


For GMC to accept your OET certificate it must show: 

  • that you took the medicine sub-tests
  • that you got a grade of ‘B’ in all four sub-tests of Speaking, Listening, Reading and Writing
  • that you got those grades in the same single test sitting
  • your candidate number

GMC will only accept results from OET test administrations taken from February 2016 onwards.

They will not accept applicants with grades lower than this standard.

For more information about the GMC English language test requirements for OET, go to: https://www.gmc-uk.org/doctors/registration_applications/routeF.asp

OET is designed for the healthcare sector and test materials reflect real healthcare scenarios. OET Grade B is equivalent to IELTS score 7.0. For more information on how to prepare for OET and apply to take OET, go to: www.occupationalenglishtest.org

For  more  information  about  the  GMC  English  language  test  requirements  for  OET, go  to: https://www.gmc-uk.org/doctors/registration_applications/routeF.asp

Have more questions? Submit a request


Starting your international healthcare career is just a step away. Apply for the test
Powered by Zendesk