How many subtests can I take?

Quick Read

  • All first-time candidates need to sit all four subtests
  • Check with your Regulatory Authority if you can sit less than three subtests.

First-time candidates are required to sit all four subtests; reading, writing, listening and speaking.

If you are required to re-sit the OET please contact the Regulatory Authority that governs your profession to see if they allow you to sit individual subtests, or if all four subtests are required in one sitting. 

Some professions require candidates to pass all four subtests in one sitting; meaning if you fail one or more sub-tests you are required re-sit all 4 sub-tests in one sitting. 

To ensure you’re up-to-date with your individual requirements, please check with the Regulatory Authority that governs your profession.

Please visit the OET website for links to the organisations that recognise OET. 


Have more questions? Submit a request


Take the next step towards your international healthcare career. Book OET
Powered by Zendesk